Posted by: Jennifer | December 30, 2009

Wild Instinct – Sarah McCarty

McCarty, Sarah. Wild Instinct. (New York: Berkley, 2009). ISBN – 9780425227619.

Main Characters: Sarah Ann and Garrett; Teri and Daire; and Rachel and Curran

Related Works: This is part of McCarty’s Wild series: Books in the series include the following:

  • Running Wild – stories of Donovan and Lisa Delaney, Kelon and Robin Delaney and Wyatt and Heather Delaney
  • Wild Instinct – stories of Garrett and Sarah Ann, Teri and Daire and Rachel and Curran

Description from Book:

Garrett – Rejected from werewolf society because of his human blood, he is one of the most infamous rogue weres. Now, he’s been promised pack status in return for saving three women from certain doom. He never expects to find his mate in the midst of his mission, but he does. And as the heat rises between them, so do the risks.

Daire – A powerful rogue who rejected the strict rules of werewolf society, he has resigned himself to never finding a mate. Then he joins forces on an unusal rescue mission. In Teri, he discovers the one woman who can make him burn, but claiming her won’t be easy, for Teri is a woman who’s been taught to fear the beast within him.

Curran – Rogue, Protector, hunter. His job is simple: find the fugitive were-woman and bring her in. Trapping his bounty has never been a problem, yet this time his prey is the haunting Rachel, a woman of secrets. Claiming her will put both their lives in jeopardy, but once he finds her, he’s never letting her go.

My Thoughts:

I think that I might be burnt out on romance novels with werewolves – or maybe they weren’t my favorite topic to begin with, and I’m not too keen on reading any more about them. I’m not sure. I do remember reading the first book in the series, Running Wild, and being on the fence about whether or not to continue reading forthcoming books.  I definitely did not get that vested in the characters in that book. Also, I often don’t enjoy books with three distinct, but connected stories. However, there are several of Sarah McCarty’s earlier works that I absolutely adore. This prompted me to get Wild Instinct.

Overall, my reaction to Wild Instinct is quite similar to that of Running Wild. I didn’t really bond with any of the characters and found that the shorter stories didn’t help with character development. As such, I didn’t really care too much about the characters or about whether or not they were able to find true love. In fact, I can’t actually remember too much about any of the stories because I ended up skimming the majority of them. I feel compelled to stress that I didn’t read this book closely – and I think that my reactions to this book are more about my current annoyance with werewolves than the work itself. I am a fan of Sarah McCarty’s other series and definitely do plan to continue reading those.

Read first on December 28, 2009

Responses

  1. […] Wild Instinct – including stories Garrett, Daire and Curran – Sarah McCarty […]

  2. […] Wild Instinct – including stories Garrett, Daire and Curran – Sarah McCarty […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

