Posted by: Jennifer | July 15, 2009

Erotic or Romantic Fiction As Substitute for Sex?

I found a link to this article by Daisy Goodwin in the TimesOnline via LISNews. The bizarre title, This is better than real sex: A survey confirms my belief that most women of a certain age are better off turning to their library card for erotic fulfilment, gave me pause. But, I decided to go ahead and read the entire article despite my misgivings. After all I’m not sure how often someone has claimed that a library card might be better than sex. And, as a librarian (which I’m not sure that I have mentioned about myself), I had to find out what type of fulfillment my library card might be able to provide – and see what I might be missing out on.

The article is a mish-mash of information. In it, we learn that according to some survey, 2/3 of women between 45 and 60 like books with titillating sex scenes. We also discover that the 10% of women in that age bracket who actively seek out books with sexual content are raunchy in the author’s estimation. The author decides this active fascination with sex in literature is because of poorly performing middle-aged men. The author then goes on to discuss the failing erotica market and say that she isn’t surprised that the erotica market is in trouble. This is because this is a “a generation of women whose sexual fantasies almost certainly include Colin Firth emerging damply from the lake at Pemberley — with nothing more explicit than a brooding stare.”

I can’t claim any personal knowledge of the sexual fantasies of women of this generation as I am still several years shy of the 45 year mark. But I find myself somewhat confused. The article begins with the author discussing how women like books with sex more than they like sex and ends with her talking about how 45-60 year old women have sexual fantasies that aren’t really all that sexual. I’m definitely missing something here. In between, she pokes fun at erotic women’s fiction.

For her final words on the subject, she writes:

There were many headlines last week suggesting that since scientists are close to being able to manufacture sperm, men are no longer necessary; I would suggest that for novel-reading women of a certain age this has long been the case.

So, the gist of the article seems to be ????? Ok, I’m not clear on the point of the article – other than it seems to suggest that middle-aged women who read erotic fiction don’t think that middle-aged men are good for sexual fulfillment. Ouch! I’m hoping that none of this applies to women in the 30 – 45 year age bracket who read erotic fiction. After all, I do fit into that category and am in no hurry to trade in my husband for my library card.

This was some strange stuff. I think the best part of the article is a story at the end about a teenage boy from New Zealand who posted pictures of his mostly undressed mother on the the internet for revenge (a mother who was not terribly bothered by her son’s actions, by the way).

Responses

  1. Silly woman! My guess is, she needs a new man and an erotic novel, and fast!

    What a great site! I love it.

  2. Very silly!! You may be right. Thanks for the comment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

