Posted by: Jennifer | June 15, 2009

Confessions of a Little Black Gown – Elizabeth Boyle

Boyle, Elizabeth. Confessions of a Little Black Gown. (New York: Avon, 2009). ISBN – 9780061373237.

Main Characters: Thalia Langley and Geoffrey, Baron Larken

Date: 1814

Related Works: This is part of Elizabeth Boyle’s The Bachelor Chronicle’s series. Books in the series include the following:

  • Something about Emmaline– story of Alexander Dumont, Baron Sedgwick and Emmaline
  • No Marriage of Convenience– story of Mason St. Clair, Earl of Ashlin and Madame Fontaine
  • Stealing the Bride– story of the Marquis of Templeton and Lady Diana Fordha
  • This Rake of Mine– story of Lord Jack Tremont and Miranda Mabberly
  • Love Letters from a Duke– story of Felicity Langley and the Duke of Hollindrake
  • Confessions of a Little Black Dress– story of Thalia Langley and Geoffrey, Baron Larken
  • Memoirs of a Scandalous Red Dress – story of Philippa, Lady Gossett and Captain Thomas Dashwell

Description from the Book:

She spied him in the shadows . . .

And in an instant, Thalia Langley knew the man before her was no saint. He might claim to be the Duke of Hollindrake’s unassuming country cousin, but no man that handsome, that arresting, could be anything but . . . well, he simply must be an unrepentant rogue. His cat-like grace and power leave Tally shivering in her slippers at the notion of all the wicked, forbidden things he might be capable of doing . . . to her.

Indeed, Lord Larken is no bumbling vicar, but a master spy there in his majesty’s service to find – and murder – a notorious pirate freed in a daring prison escape. Devoted to the Crown, Larken’s not about to let an interfering (and not entirely innocent) Mayfair miss disrupt his ruthless plans. Yet how can he be anything but tempted by this lady in a little black gown . . . a dress tantalizing enough to lead even Larken astray.

My Thoughts:

From the moment I started this book, I could not put it down. I carried this book around with me everywhere so that I could continue to read it. I almost burned dinner because I wasn’t really paying attention to what I was cooking.

I’m always a little bit unsure of how I am going to react to an Elizabeth Boyle book. Some books I love, some I just like and some I have trouble finishing. I really enjoyed the previous book in this series, Love Letter from a Duke. I loved the Langleys, so I really needed to read Thalia’s story. I didn’t have any expectations – especially after reading reviews of the next work in the series, Memoirs of a Scandalous Red Dress. I certainly expected this next book to be about Pippin and Dashwell, just not 22 years later. So, I was on the fence about reading this book. But, I can say that Confessions of a Little Black Gown sucked me in completely. I thought it was a wonderful story.

Thalia and her cousin Pippin have a problem. They have broken Pippin’s love, the pirate Dashwell, out of prison. The government suspects the Langley’s of being involved, and they send someone to investigate – and end Dashwell’s life. In comes, Geoffrey, Baron Larken who tries to masquerade as a mild mannered vicar to find the pirate. Thalia suspects that Larken is not all he seems right away –  mostly because of her instant attraction to him.

One of my favorite things about this story is the fact that Thalia and Pippin did indeed break Dashwell out of prison. These are two very strong and intelligent women who can match their wits against anyone. The Langley’s definitely had an unusual upbringing, and they can take care of themselves.

I do now intend to read Memoirs of a Scandalous Red Dress – after all, I have been following Pippin and Dashwell’s romance since This Rake of Mine. I’m not sure how I will react. I remember being disappointed when I found out that the two would not get together until after marriages to and lives with other people. However, it is good that I did find out – otherwise, I would have found the end of this book a bit sad.

Read first June 11, 2009

Responses

  1. hi,
    would just like to tell you that the memoirs of a red dress was the best elizabeth boyle’s book i’ve read. so touching. i didnt like confession of a little black gown much but i loved the memoirs of a red dress. i loved how she separated them for a time. so unconventional unlike other books where they were separated for a short period of time. i loved also that pippin had loved her husband too. instead of playing the tragic pitiful heroine who had to sacrifice everything. memoirs of a red dress is a definite must read! 😀

  2. I definitely need to go out and get Memoirs of a Scandalous Red Dress. Thanks for the information!! 🙂

  3. […] Confessions of a Little Black Gown – Elizabeth Boyle […]

  4. […] Confessions of a Little Black Gown – Elizabeth Boyle […]

  5. […] Confessions of a Little Black Gown – Elizabeth Boyle […]

  6. […] Confessions of a Little Black Gown – Elizabeth Boyle […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

