Posted by: Jennifer | June 9, 2009

A Hint of Wicked – Jennifer Haymore

Haymore, Jennifer. A Hint of Wicked. (New York: Hachette, 2009). ISBN – 9780446540292.

Main Characters: Sophie, the Duchess of Calton and Tristan, Lord Westcliff

Date: 1823

Description from Book:

What happens when a lady desires not one man, but two?

Sophis, the Duchess of Calton, has finally moved on. After seven years mourning the loss of her husband, Garrett, at Waterloo, she has married his best friend and heir, Tristan. Sophie gives herself to him body and soul . . . until the day Garrett returns from the Continent demanding his title, his lands – and his wife.

Now Sophie must choose between her first love and her new love, knowing that no matter what, her choice will destroy one of the men she adores. Will it be Garrett, her childhood sweetheart, whose loss nearly destroyed her once already? Or will it be Tristan, beloved friend turned lover, who supported her through the last, dark years and introduced her to a passion she had never known? As her two husbands battle for her heart, Sophie finds herself immersed in a dangerous game – where the stakes are not only love . . . but life and death.

My Thoughts:

There has been a great deal of buzz online about this book. The plot involves a love triangle – which isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. I had my own issues trying to decide whether or not I wanted to buy a copy. Ultimately, I couldn’t pass it up. I was too interested in the story and how Haymore handled the situation. Plus, I wanted to know who Sophie ended up with – her first husband or her second husband.

So, the bottom line is that I do not care for love triangles in the romance novels that I read. I read romance for the one-true-love theme. I don’t necessarily believe that soul mates exist in real life. I believe that love is complicated and often messy. Love triangles happen in reality, and they often lead to heartbreak and pain. And, I don’t really want to read about heartbreak and pain.

I cried at the point in the book where Sophie said goodbye to Garrett. It was emotional and very sad. Sophie was a wreck. Garrett was attempting to move on, but certainly wasn’t happy. Yes, Tristan and Sophie were happy to be together, but there was still a lingering sadness. Both were certainly worried about Garrett and what their relationship would do to him. This takes away from the destined-to-be-together feeling that I want to have for the hero and heroine at the end of a romance. Maybe this would have worked for me if I believed that Garrett’s reappearance would have made Sophie and Tristan’s relationship stronger. But, I didn’t get that feeling.

Now, none of this means that this isn’t a good book. I am glad that I did decide to read this book. It was worth it – although I did have to read the ending first. And, the scene where Garrett first makes his reappearance into the lives of Sophie of Tristan was rather eyeopening.

Although I dislike the love triangle theme, this was not what I disliked most about this book. Besides the love triange angle, there is a villian with an evil plot. This is standard fare for romances, and as a rule is ok. What bothered me here was the villain himself and his relationship to Garrett. I hated, hated the fact the Garrett was clueless about the true nature of the villain, especially when nearly everyone else had an issue. Right up until the villain hurts Sophie and runs off with Garrett’s sister, Garrett is absolutely, positively convinced the the person in question is loyal to him.

I do intend to read the next book in the series which is purported to be Garrett’s. I’m hoping that Garrett’s happy ending will make Tristan and Sophie’s complete.

Read first June 2009

Responses

  1. […] A Hint of Wicked – Jennifer Haymore […]

  2. […] A Hint of Wicked– Jennifer Haymore […]

  3. […] A Hint of Wicked – Jennifer Haymore […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

