Posted by: Jennifer | June 2, 2009

Reading Angst

There has been a great deal of talk in the romance community about Jennifer Haymore’s latest release, A Hint of Wicked. The buzz has been good – which has made me rather interested in reading it. However, I’m not a fan of the love triangle plot (see my angst of Suzanne Brockmann’s Dark of Night). I like to know at the outset who the hero and heroine are. If it isn’t clear, I might become emotionally vested in the wrong hero – and that just ruins the reading experience for me. I admit that I can get upset, too upset even – especially in a work that is emotionally charged (A Hint of Wicked is purported to be).

This is why I always look for spoilers for tv shows, books or movies that may have questionable endings. I search online to find answers, and get frustrated when no spoilers have been published. With tv shows that bill surprise endings, I often tape the show and wait to watch – until I have an answer. And yes, I read the ending of books if I suspect something hinky. I understand that there are lots and lots of people who don’t want to know. I don’t give them a hard time, nor do I try and spout spoilers to ruin their reading experience. But, I think that others need to understand that there are people who will not read a book or watch a tv show/movie, unless they know how it ends.

So, I looked online to find out with whom the heroine of A Hint of Wicked, Sophie, found true love. I was EXTREMELY disappointed that I didn’t find the answer. After some internal arguing back and forth, I decided that I definitely wanted to read the book. After all, I could simply look in the back of the book to find the answer. The book arrived in the mail today, and I have indeed read the last chapter. I can say that the emotional angst just in that last chapter was incredibly intense. However, I can now read the book without becoming emotionally invested in the wrong hero.

Responses

  1. I came across your post while looking for the same thing! lol Found this, although you probably don’t need it anymore: http://donttalkjustread.blogspot.com/2009/06/totally-spoliery-discussion-on-hint-of.html

  2. Thanks Kat! I had seen it – and it was exactly the sort of think I was looking for as well.

  3. Hi there! Thank you for putting into words what I couldn’t seem to verbalize — I feel same as you re: spoilers and too much emotional angst in books and even movies. While I love a good conflict between the H/H sometimes too much really frustrates and annoys the heck out of me and then it takes away all enjoyment I have of the book.

  4. Hi Tabitha,

    Well put! It is nice to know that others feel the same way. 🙂

  5. I had to peek at the ending of this book, which I never do, but I gave kudos to the writer for making me feel that I had to do it 🙂
    Overall I loved that the book was different to the usual romance novel,

  6. It certainly was different – and I think that might have been a major reason it was so appealing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

