Posted by: Jennifer | March 21, 2009

The Darkyn – An Unexpected Surprise

I recently discovered Lynn Viehl and the Darkyn while looking for books to buy before I went on vacation. Usually, I look for something slightly different to take on vacation. I don’t really want to take my favorite books – or new ones from my favorite authors. Instead, I prefer books that are easy to read, that I will enjoy, and that won’t totally capture my attention. After all, when I on vacation, I don’t really want to be reading a book that I can’t put done (I guess I might make an exception if I were going to be sitting on a beach).  I did pretty well finding books that kept me very lightly entertained with Allison Brennan’s See No Eviland Ginna Gray’s The Prime Objective. I enjoyed both; they kept me well occupied while flying. However, I didn’t do so well in picking out Lynn Viehl’s Evermore. From the first chapter, I was hooked. I carried this book around with me on our journey from Sebastian, Florida to Key West and from Key West back to Islamorada trying to find any segment of free time to continue reading. While at a Wal-Mart in the Sebastian area, I noticed a copy of Viehl’s Stay the Night– another book in the Darkyn series. I did buy a copy, and thus had another book that I had to get through once I did manage to finish Evermore.

Once home, I immediately sought out the rest of the books in the series: If Angels Burn, Private Demon, Dark Need, and Twilight Fall. I just finished up reading these books this morning – which has obviously been my obsession since returning home from vacation. While this wasn’t the type of series that I would choose to discover while on vacation (one with lots of driving, many different stops and lots of sightseeing), I am very glad that I did pick up Evermore. I have become a huge fan of the Darkyn and the Kyndred, as well. I will say that my major issue with the series is the fact that I read these books out of order. The books don’t stand alone to well because they are each part of the larger story of the Darkyn, the Brethren and the Kyndred – and they are quite confusing out of order. While reading Stay the Night (which is now the last book in the series), I was very confused about many things, but especially about Luisa Lopez. Now, of course, I think everything makes sense. And, I will be very much looking forward the fall 2009 release of Viehl’s Shadowlight, her first novel of the Kyndred – who are very much related to the Darkyn.

Leave a Reply

Categories

