Posted by: Jennifer | January 13, 2009

New Moon – Stephanie Meyer

Meyer, Stephanie. New Moon. (New York: Little, Brown and Company, 2006). ISBN – 9780316160193.

Main Characters: Isabella Swan and Edward Cullen

Related Works: This is the second book in Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight saga.

  • Twilight
  • New Moon
  • Eclipse
  • Breaking Dawn

Description from book:

I felt like I was trapped in one of those terrifying nightmares, the one where you have to run, run till your lungs burst, but you can’t make your body move fast enough. . . . But this was no dream, and, unlike the nightmare, I wasn’t running for my life; I was racing to save something infinitely more precious. My own life meant little to me today.

For Bella Swan, there is one thing more important than life itself: Edward Cullen. But being in love with a vampire is even more dangerous than Bella ever could have imagined. Edward has already rescued Bella from the clutches of one evil vampire, but now, as their daring relationship threatens all that is near and dear to them, they realize their troubles may be just beginning. . . .

My Thoughts:

I wasn’t sure if I would read this book. I definitely enjoyed Twilight, but wasn’t sure whether or not I wanted to get caught up in the rest of the series. After all, I’ve read several reviews of Breaking Dawn – and thought that it might be best to just pretend the story ended with Twilight. However, when I returned Twilight to my cousin, he handed me New Moon. With it in hand, I couldn’t not read the book.

My reaction? Oh my god, can I tell you that I almost cried when Edward left. My heart was breaking after the birthday party gone bad at the Cullens, because I knew that it was coming. Bella was a mess, and I hurt so badly for her. I was so happy when Edward finally came back.

Do you remember this? The fact that I am so devastated by the turn of events surround the couple in Suzanne Brockmann’s Dark of Night. I was so hoping to be able to distance myself emotionally from characters in the books that I read to avoid just emotional upheaval in the future. However, New Moon sucked me right in. I could not believe how caught up I was in Edward and Bella’s plight. I guess that this is just the way that I read books, and I will have to deal. I am anxiously awaiting Eclipse and Breaking Dawn.

Read first January 2009

Responses

  1. […] New Moon – Stephanie Meyer […]

  2. […] New Moon – Stephanie Meyer […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

