Posted by: Jennifer | December 29, 2008

Twilight – Stephanie Meyers

Meyers, Stephanie. Twilight. (New York: Little, Brown and Company, 2005). ISBN – 9780316015844.

Main Characters: Isabella Swan and Edward Cullen

Related Works: This is the first book in Stephanie Meyers’ Twilight saga.

  • Twilight
  • New Moon
  • Eclipse
  • Breaking Dawn

My Thoughts:

There is something so wonderful and comforting about unexpectedly great reading experiences. I really wasn’t expecting to like this book much – or to get into it too much either. Yet, I am a huge fan of brooding, romantic heroes and emotional angst. Twilight certainly has both. Edward captivated me from the first. I was prepared not to like Bella. I had gotten the idea from reading reviews and the like that she would be an uninteresting character with little personality when not with Edward. This wasn’t the case. While Edward is certainly the more dominant character, Bella wasn’t the pushover that I was expecting. Yes, she was somewhat mesmerized by Edward from their first meeting; but, I think their immediate attraction was central to the rest of the story.

I enjoyed the unfolding of the vampire mythology. I thought it played out nicely. I loved the scene where Edward takes Bella to meet his family. I’m glad that they were an integral part of the second half of the book.

So, I have now read Twilight, and I’m not sure whether to read the rest. I’ve read reviews for the rest (and plenty of reader commentaries), and Breaking Dawn sounds a bit gruesome. I really would like to just be satisfied with Twilight and its ending. However, I’m pretty sure that I won’t be able to resist reading the other three stories.

Argh! It is so difficult being me sometimes! 🙂

Read first December 29, 2008

Responses

  1. […] Twilight […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

