Posted by: Jennifer | December 11, 2008

Reader’s Block

Reading is one of my all-time favorite past times. It is something that I am constantly doing. I mean, I almost always have a book at hand in case I have some free time. Even as I sit here, typing away on my computer, I am surrounded by stacks of books – both read and unread. But right now, I’m in a reading rut. I can’t seem to concentrate enough to actually get into a book. This started in November when my life got extremely busy. I put many, many hours into work and had many personal and family obligations. This isn’t unusual for this time of year, I know. But things have quieted down a bit, and I still can’t seem to actually commit to a book. Last week, I was sick and home from work several days. Usually, the only thing I do when I am sick is read. But last week’s cold was settled in my head and played havoc with my concentration. Reading was definitely out of the question.

Currently, I have read the first chapters of several books: The Darkest Touch by Jaci Burton, Her Secret Lover by Sara Bennett, Never Dare a Duke by Gayle Callen, The Bride Price by Anne Mallory and The Heir and the Spare by Maya Rodale. Now, I don’t want to in any way suggest that my reading blues are prompted by the aforementioned books – I haven’t gotten far enough into any of them to be able to form a realistic opinion. However, I do keep reaching for new books trying to rekindle my interest.

I hope my reading blues turn around soon. Reading is what I do to recharge my batteries – and I’m definitely starting to feel a bit agitated.

Responses

  1. […] I mentioned in my last post, I’ve been in a reading slump – picking up books and not really being interested in reading […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

