Posted by: Jennifer | September 15, 2008

Light My Fire – Katie MacAlister

MacAlister, Katie. Light My Fire. (New York: Signet, 2006). ISBN – 0451219821.

Main Characters: Aisling Grey and Drake Vireo

Related Works: This is part of Katie MacAlister’s Aisling Grey, Guardian novels. The books in the series include the following:

 

Description from book:

I’m Aisling Grey, and multitasking is my middle name . . .

It’s not easy being a demon lord, a Guardian, and a wyvern’s mate all at once. Luckily, I just moved to London to study all things Guardian with my mentor. A new start is exactly what I need after being betrayed (again!) by Drake, wyvern of the green dragons. Though I’m supposedly immortal, I’m not so sure my heart can take another beating.

But I’m still officially Drake’s mate  – and my presence is required at a meeting of the green dragons. How I’m going to keep my distance from that fire-breathing hunk is beyond me. It doesn’t help that several annoying attempts have been made on my life. Or that I’m wanted by the entire otherworldly population of imps since Jim, my doggie demon sidekick, accidentally ate their ruler. Being an alpha dragon and all, Drake is sure to get protective of me – which might not be a bad thing when war breaks out and all hell breaks loose . . . literally.

My Thoughts:

In this third installment, Aisling Grey has arrived in London ready to begin her apprenticeship with her Guardian mentor, Nora – accompanied, of course, by Jim, the demon dog. However, things quickly spiral out of control. Nora has been accused of Guardian misdeeds and is forbidden from taking on a new apprentice. Despite having betrayed her, Drake simply appears in London requiring Aisling’s presence for green dragon business. Several European Otherworld members have decided that Aisling should be the next Venediger. In addition to al of this, there is some serious in-house contention within the green dragon sept. As always, Aisling is stuck in the middle – and possibly pregnant.

I definitely enjoyed this book. It was funny. Jim made me laugh time and time again. However, I did start to get a bit tired of the conflict between Drake and Fiat. I found the maneuvering between dragon septs to be a bit confusing. What was Gabriel’s role? I assume he isn’t a bad guy, because he will be the hero in MacAlister’s next series of books. Why does Fiat get involved when Dmitri challenges Drake? Is it all so that he can get Aisling as his mate? I guess I didn’t really like the revelation that wyvern mates can be mated to any of the wyverns rather than one in particular. None of this made the book bad, by any means. I just found it more difficult to get through parts of this book. Hopefully, things take a better turn for Aisling and Drake in the next one! 

Read first September 10, 2008

Responses

  1. […] Light My Fire […]

  2. […] Light My Fire […]

  3. […] Light My Fire – Katie MacAlister […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

