Posted by: Jennifer | September 11, 2008

You Slay Me – Katie MacAlister

MacAlister, Katie. You Slay Me. (New York: NAL, 2004). ISBN – 0451411528.

Main Characters: Aisling Grey and Drake Vireo

Related Works: This is part of Katie MacAlister’s Aisling Grey, Guardian novels. The books in the series include the following:

 

Description from book:

 I’m Aisling Grey, and I have the job from Hell . . .

Literally. My prior career as a courier began and ended when I traveled to Paris to deliver a six-hundred-year-old golden dragon statue and learned I was a Guardian. That’s a Keeper of the Gates of Hell to you mere mortals. This I found out from Drake Vireo, a scrumptiously sexy (atleast in human form) real-life dragon. Then he stole my artifact out from under my nose – and from under the dead body of the person I was supposed to deliver it to.

After tracking Drake down to a local bar, I discovered I’m also a wyvern’s mate. And wouldn’t you know Drake is a wyvern? He couldn’t just be some underling – he had to be head dragon. But the fact that he’s the prime suspect behind the murders in Paris’s immortal underworld – murders I must solve in order to clear my suddenly soiled name – means it will take some convincing to get me to partake of the sensual pleasures he offers. Just because I’m naive doesn’t mean I’m easy.

Other than being a murder suspect, conjuring up a demon in the form of a shaggy Newfoundland, and fending off the advances of a horny dragon, I’m having a wonderful time in Paris. Wish you were here . . .

My Thoughts:

I love books with lighthearted, madcap characters who can’t seem to help getting into trouble. And boy does Aisling Grey fit into this category. She is a riot as a new Guardian, wyvern mate and demon lord who doesn’t entirely understand what any of these things truly means. Of course, no one seems to want to actually tell her what she needs to know in order to harness her new found powers. Then, there is Drake, whom Aisling meets over the dead body of the woman who was supposed to be the new owner of the golden dragon. Thus begins a bizarre adventure through the streets of Paris as Aisling tries to prove herself innocent of murder, find the true killer, retrieve her dragon and deal with her first exposure to the beings of the Otherworld. I swear that the amount of action and the fast-pace nature of Aisling’s escapades was enough to make my head spin several times. But, this didn’t make the journey any less entertaining.

Aisling is definitely the star of this book. She made me laugh. She is at her best when faced with situations she has absolutely no idea how to handle. She pushes forward with whatever she thinks will work to get her out of a situation – often despite warnings from those around her. I loved it when she challenged Drake over his position as leader of the green dragon sept. That she chose darts as the means of battle was priceless. I can’t wait to find out what will happen to her for losing the challenge.

Read first July 2008

Responses

  1. […] You Slay Me – Katie MacAlister […]

  2. […] You Slay Me […]

  3. […] You Slay Me […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

