Posted by: Jennifer | September 11, 2008

Fire Me Up – Katie MacAlister

MacAlister, Katie. Fire Me Up. (New York: Signet, 2005). ISBN – 9780451214942.

Main Characters: Aisling Grey and Drake Vireo

Related Works: This is part of Katie MacAlister’s Aisling Grey, Guardian novels. The books in the series include the following:

 

Description from book:

I’m Aisling Grey, and apparently I’m irresistible . . .

Being quite the novice Guardian/Keeper of the Gates to Hell, I’ve decided to get in touch with my otherworldly self by attending a convention of supernatural beings in Budapest. For my other career as a courier (with a somewhat tarnished reputation), I have to deliver a priceless amulet to a hermit, much to the amusement of Jim, my wisecracking furry Newfoundland demon. He should be happy that I was able to squeak though customs with a talking dog . . .

And guess who just happens to be staying at the same hotel as I am? Drake. You remember him. The wyvern of the green dragons? My so-called “mate”? The man who literally fires me up and makes me act like a lovesick schoolgirl? That Drake.

Meanwhile, mortal men are falling at my feet. I don’t know if it’s the Hungarian air or what, but it’s downright embarrassing. All I want to do is find a Guardian mentor to help me control my powers. Should be easy – except that every Guardian I meet with winds up dead. I’m starting to get a complex . . .

My Thoughts:

I didn’t necessarily think it was possible, but I found the 2nd book in the Aisling Grey, Guardian series funnier than the first. In this book, Aisling travels to Budapest to attend her first GODTAM (Guardians, Oracles, Diviners, Theurgists and Mages) conference, and to deliver another artifact on behalf of her uncle. Things go wrong for Aisling as soon as she arrives in Budapest – when someone tries to steal the amulet she is transported and her underwear are scattered on the sidewalk. I laughed out loud when Drake picked up a pair of her underwear. Of course, things only got worse for Aisling from this point forward. Unbeknownst to her, Drake moved is dragon sept meeting to Budapest because Aisling’s presence as his mate is important – although Aisling doesn’t really understand why. The wyverns of the other dragon septs aren’t terribly keen on Aisling and would appear to prefer she not be Drake’s mate. Meanwhile, Aisling is trying to find a Guardian mentor so that she can learn about her new role. Many of the Guardians would rather Aisling not join their ranks. Then, there is Paolo, the Diviner, dogging her throughout the conference predicting bad things that will occur to Aisling. This book was seriously funny. I am definitely looking forward to the next two books in the series.

Read first September 8, 2008

Responses

  1. […] Fire Me Up […]

  2. […] Fire Me Up – Katie MacAlister […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

