Posted by: Jennifer | September 8, 2008

Acheron – Sherrilyn Kenyon

Kenyon, Sherrilyn. Acheron. (New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2008). ISBN – 9780312362157.

Main Characters: Acheron and Soteria Kafieri

Related Works: This is part of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark-Hunter Series. Books in the series include the following:

  • Fantasy Lover – Grace Alexander and Julian of Macedon
  • The Beginning
  • Dragonswan – Channon MacRea and Sebastian
  • Night Pleasures – Kyrian of Thrace and Amanda Devereaux
  • Night Embrace -Talon of the Morrigantes and Sunshine Runningwolf
  • Phantom Lover
  • Dance with the Devil – Zarek of Moesia and Astrid
  • A Dark-Hunter Christmas
  • Kiss of the Night – Wulf Tryggvasen and Cassandra Peters
  • Night Play – Bride McTierney and Vane Kattalakis
  • Winter Born – Dante Pontis and Pandora Kouti – short story in Stroke of Midnight anthology
  • Seize the Night – Valerius Magnus and Tabitha Devereaux
  • Sins of the Night – Alexion and Dangereuse St. Richard
  • Second Chances
  • Unleash the Night – Wren Tigerian and Marguerite D’Aubert Goudeau
  • Dark Side of the Moon – Susan Michaels and Ravyn Kontis
  • A Hard-Day’s-Night Searcher – Rafael Santiago and Celena
  • Until Death Do We Part – Esperetta and Velkan
  • Fear the Darknessshort story about Nick Gautier – ebook
  • The Dream Hunter – Arik and Dr. Megeara Kafieri
  • Devil May Cry – Sin and Katra
  • Upon the Midnight Clear – Aidan O’Connor and Leta
  • Dark-Hunter Companion
  • Dream Chaser – Xypher and Simone Dubois
  • Acheron – Acheron and Soteria Kafieri
  • One Silent Night – Strykerius and Zephyra

Description from book:

At last, the most anticipated story in the blockbuster Dark-Hunter series has arrived. The never-before-revealed story of the Dark-Hunter leader, Acheron. He was made human in order to escape death, but in death he was reborn a god . . .

Eleven thousand years ago a god was born. Cursed into the body of a human, Acheron spent a lifetime in shame. However, his human death unleashed an unspeakable horror that almost destroyed the earth. Then, brought back against his will, Acheron became the sole defender of mankind.

Only it was never that simple. For centuries, he has fought for our survival and has hiddent a past he never wanted revealed. Until a lone woman who refuses to be intimidated by him threatens his very existence.

Now Acheron’s survival, and ours, depends on her, and old enemies reawaken and unite to kill the both.

War has never been more deadly . . . or more fun.

My Thoughts:

With nothing much going on this past weekend, I decided it would be a good time to tackle this 722 page book. I had mixed feelings about reading it because I’ve only read three other books in the Dark-Hunter series. But, I kept looking at the book, and decided that I could not make myself wait any longer. Despite the length, it was an easy read. I finished it in several chunks within a 24 hour period. And, more importantly, I very much enjoyed Acheron’s tale.

Kenyon promised that the entire sordid truth about Ash’s life would be revealed – and I definitely think it was. Admittedly, it was quite difficult to read about Ash’s human life – which was filled with pain, suffering, and humiliation. Just when I thought his life could not get any worse, it did. I wanted to strangle Artemis many, many times. I would have to imagine that most people who have ready any of these books (especially Devil May Cry) understood that Artemis and Acheron had a rather difficult and strained relationship – and understood that Artemis was the evil one. But, she was absolutely awful. From the beginning of his life, Ash’s human parents treated him heinously. However, Artemis claimed to care for Acheron, and I think this is what made her behavior so evil. I can tell you that I was absolutely thrilled when I made it page 430 – which was the point where Ash’s present-day story started. This doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy the first part of the book because I did. It wasn’t a happy story, but it did make me feel as if I truly understood Acheron – and the hold that Artemis had on him. So, the first part of the book wasn’t fun, but it was necessary to complete the picture.

While there was certainly some fighting and threat of world destruction in the present-day portion of the book, it was indeed much more fun to read. I enjoyed the klutzy, obsessive-compulsive character of Soteria Kafieri. She did indeed complement Acheron. Not to mention, I loved her final scene with Artemis when she was able to put the goddess in her place (with the help of some new found powers from her mother-in-law to be). I admit that I would have loved for Artemis to suffer a bit more – although I guess she has been suffering her entire life in some way shape or form. I’m guessing that she really does love Acheron, but is too self-centered to be able to truly love another. Hopefully, she will have lots of difficulty dealing with the fact that Acheron is no longer hers to command.

Anyway, this was an excellent story – hard to read at times, but very satisfying in the end.

Read first September 6, 2008

Responses

  1. […] Acheron – Acheron and Soteria Kafieri […]

  2. […] Acheron – Acheron and Soteria Kafieri […]

  3. […] Acheron – Acheron and Soteria Kafieri […]

  4. […] Acheron – Sherrilyn Kenyon […]

  5. […] Acheron – Acheron and Soteria Kafieri […]

  6. […] Acheron- Sherrilyn Kenyon (2008) […]

  7. […] Acheron – Sherrilyn Kenyon […]

  8. I absolutely love this book. I read it 2x in 48 hours it was so good. I’ll admit I checked it out from the library… but now I think I’ll have to buy it.

    I agree with the reviewers opinion of the heroine. If you like DH series then you already love Ash before you even read what happened to him. Strangely it makes you fall deeper. This is the first heroine I’ve read about in a long time who I could thoroughly cheer for and thought that the two were a worthy couple.

    SK, this book was worth the wait!

  9. […] Acheron – Acheron and Soteria Kafieri […]

  10. lol, I downloaded the ebook for this. I couldn’t wait anymore.


Leave a Reply

Categories

