Posted by: Jennifer | August 9, 2008

Claimed by Shadow – Karen Chance

Chance, Karen. Claimed by Shadow. (New York: Penguin, 2007). ISBN – 9780451461520.

Main Character: Cassandra Palmer

Related Works: This is part of Karen Chance’s Cassandra Palmer series. The first book is Touch the Dark. Claimed by Shadow is the second in the series, and Embrace the Night is the third. Curse the Dawn, to be published in 2009, will be the fourth installment.

Description from book:

A recent legacy made Cassandra Palmer heir to the title of Pythia, the world’s chief clairvoyant. It’s a position that usually comes with years of training, but Cassie’s circumstances are a little . . . unusual. And now she’s stuck with a whopping amount of power that every vamp, Fey, and mage in town wants to either monopolize or eradicate – and that she herself doesn’t dare use.

What’s more, she’s just discovered that a certain arrogant master vampire has put a geis on her – a magical claim that warns off any would-be suitors, and might also explain the rather . . . intense attraction between them. But Cassie’s had it with being jerked around, and anyone who tries it from now on is going to find out that she makes a very bad enemy . . .

My Thoughts:

I have mixed feelings about this book. I absolutely loved Cassie. She is a riot as the almost new Pythia who is hesitant to use her powers because of what might be required of her in exchange. She gets into enormous trouble wherever she goes and travels with Billy, the ghost. A war mage named Pritkin seems to follow her everywhere even though we are not quite sure whether he intends to kill Cassie or not. Then there is this magical geis that ties Cassie to a vampire named Mircea – one that she really needs to find a way to break. One of my issues with the book is that there was SO much going on. I often found it difficult to remember where we were. There is also a great deal of magical stuff going on that was difficult for me to remember. What exactly is a ward? I’m not sure that I get it. I had to reread several passages of the book. Things might have made a bit more sense if I had started this series with the first book, Touch the Dark. My other issue is that this isn’t really a romance – and I primarily (ok, almost exclusively) read romances. I happened to pick this book up in the romance section at Borders – and I think it is normally shelved in the science fiction/fantasy section. None of my issues make this a bad book, just not what I usually read. I probably would have loved it if the book had a central romance. As it is, Cassie has romantic-type relationships with three men – Mircea, the vampire who placed the geis on her; Tomas, the vampire who takes her virginity to complete the ceremony and make Cassie the Pythia and Pritkin, the mage with whom she seems to have a love/hate relationship.

Anyway, despite my mixed feelings, I think that I will indeed have to read the rest of the books in the series. Cassie is lots of fun – and I am extremely curious to read about what happens next. I guess I can learn to expand my horizons a bit, huh?

Read first August 2008

Leave a Reply

Categories

