Posted by: Jennifer | March 20, 2008

How to Propose to a Prince – Kathryn Caskie

Caskie, Kathryn. How to Propose a Prince. (New York: Avon, 2008). ISBN – 9780061124877.

Main Characters: Elizabeth Royle and Sumner Lansdowne, Marquess of Whitevale

Related Works: This book is part of Kathryn Caskie’s Royle series. The first book in the series is How to Seduce a Duke– the story of Mary Royle and the Duke if Blackstone. The second book is How to Engage an Earl– the story of Anne Royle and Laird Allen, the Earl of MacLaren.

Description from book:

If you can’t be acknowledged as the daughter of a prince, the least you can do is marry one.

When Elizabeth, youngest of the notorious Royle sisters, comes face-to-face with her future husband, a man she’s seen only in her dreams, she nearly swoons – especially when she discovers he is a prince. But her ecstasy is short-lived as she quickly learns that the man she longs for is betrothed to someone else – a princess, no less. Most women would give up, but Elizabeth is a Royle, after all.

Refusing to surrender her dreams of a royal wedding, Elizabeth takes the position of lady-in-waiting to the fiancee, determined to get close to her perfect match. But the lover she desires is not who he seems . . . and only once she discovers the true man behind the crown will she find the perfect love she’s been longing for all of her life.

My Thoughts:

I have enjoyed Caskie’s Royle series – even though I don’t think I ever actually finished How to Engage an Earl(something that I need to remedy). But so far, this one is by far my favorite of the series. I thought this book was so much fun to read. Elizabeth is so convinced that the man she saw in her dream will become her husband that she refuses to listen to those who want to temper her enthusiasm. Then there is Aunt Prudence, who spends almost all of her time feigning sleep in order to keep her eyes on her nieces. I didn’t know what to make of the silent Cherie who seemed to always anticipate everyone’s needs. The Old Rakes are hysterical – and often quite incomprehensible. I’m still not sure that I entirely understand their scheme.

But beyond that I thoroughly enjoyed Elizabeth and Sumner’s relationship. I expected that the whole scheme where Sumner and his cousin Leopold switch identities would annoy me, but I think it was well done. I was a bit surprised that Elizabeth wasn’t suspicious about Sumner’s supposed relationship with Princess Charlotte. It seemed very apparent to me that Charlotte and Leopold were the one’s sneaking around to see each other. Despite this, I found this story to be a fitting end to the mystery of the Royle sisters and their lineage. As I mentioned earlier, I was not entirely sure about what the Old Rakes were trying to accomplish – I much preferred the resolution provided by Aunt Prudence and Maria Fitzherbert.

Read first March 2008

Responses

  1. […] How to Propose to a Prince – Kathryn Caskie […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

