Posted by: Jennifer | February 9, 2008

Dawn’s Awakening – Lora Leigh

Leigh, Lora. Dawn’s Awakening. (New York: Berkley, 2008). ISBN – 9780425219751.

Main Characters: Dawn Daniels and Seth Lawrence

Related Works: This is one of Lora Leigh’s the Breeds Series. See Lora Leigh’s Breed Chronology. This series includes the following:

 

Description from book:

The runt of the lab she was created in Dawn Daniels endured years of torture by her pride brother and the Council soldiers. Finally freed from her torment, she’s now a Breed Enforcer, in control of her own life. Then she’s assigned to protect the one man destined to be her mate – and realized it’s far too easy to lose total control.

One of the Breeds’ most important supporters, Seth Lawrence has spent years trying to forget Dawn, knowing that her lost innocence has made it impossible for her to get close to anyone. But suddenly neither of them can find the strength to fight the overwhelming passion between them. At least until the most brutal tormentor from Dawn’s past reappears – and threatens to destroy their newfound love, along with their lives . . .

My Thoughts:

I know that I must have mentioned previously that I am absolutely addicted to Lora Leigh’s Breed series. I have sort of a love/hate relationship with this series because on one hand I love the series, but on the other hand I find it agonizing to have to wait for the next book to come out. Fortunately, Leigh seems to write books at an amazing pace. Yet, I actually get a bit depressed when I finish a new book because there are issues yet to be resolved – and I want to know all of the answers NOW! What is up with Cassie and the unnamed Breed sniper who was climbing out of her hospital window at the end of the book? When will we find out more? Will Jonas get a mate? What about the first Leo and the Vanderdales?

Despite my frustrations, I thoroughly enjoyed Dawn’s Awakening – as much as I have enjoyed all of the other Breed books. Leigh introduced Dawn early on in this series – and I have been waiting less than patiently for her story. We have known for some time that Seth Lawrence was her mate, but that they were not/could not be together. Dawn had been terrorized by her captors in the lab and by her pride brother Dayan. Her pride family knew that she was emotionally fraught and unable to deal with a physical relationship with a man. They thought it best that Seth leave Dawn alone, so he did – for 10 long years.

But when Seth’s life is threatened (and he is seemingly ready to move on with and spend his life with another woman), Dawn starts to wake up. Seth is hers, and her animal instincts will not let him move on with someone else. Neither will she allow herself to be left out of Seth’s protection detail. As she and Seth grow closer, Dawn starts to remember her life in the lab and has to deal with her painful memories. This time, she is able to rely upon her newfound love with Seth to help her through the experience.

I’ve always had a fondness for both Dawn and Seth – and am happy they are now together. I can only wonder what Leigh has in store for the Breeds next – and hope that the wait won’t seem to long.

Read first on February 8, 2008
Read again on April 27, 2008

Responses

  1. […] Holly, Shiloh Walker, and Meljean Brook), Megan’s Mark, Harmony’s Way, Tanner’s Scheme and Dawn’s Awakening (to be published in February 2008). See Lora Leigh’s Breed […]

  2. […] and Meljean Brook), Megan’s Mark, Harmony’s Way, Tanner’s Scheme and Dawn’s Awakening (to be published in February 2008). See Lora Leigh’s Breed […]

  3. I kind of had the impression that the mysterious person sneaking around Cassie was Jonas… I’m glad to see someone else loves those books as much as I do though.

  4. Hmm!! Interesting thought! I got the impression that the person was acting as a sniper as was Jonas. Hopefully, we will find out at some point!!! 🙂

  5. […] read good reviews at My Thoughts on Nothing Much at All and at Thrifty […]

  6. […] Dawn’s Awakening – Lora Leigh […]

  7. All I know is Jonas is going to have a book its called “Lion Heat” but there are at least 5 more being written before it.
    “Mercury’s War”- Mercury and Ria
    “Christmas Heat”- Noble and Haley
    “Coyote’s Mate”- Del-Rey and Anya
    “Untitled”- Cabal
    “Untitled”- Hawke and Jessica
    then “Lion Heat”- Jonas
    And I really want to know who has their eye on Cassie, too, It seems forever before I find out I kinda wish she’d write Like 8 Breeds books at once then 1 of each of her others then 8 more Breeds. But alas… no such luck. Anyway hope the info is helpful

  8. Thanks for the info!!! I’m definitely hankering for both Jonas and Cassie to get stories. I’m counting down the days until Mercury’s War.

  9. […] Dawn’s Awakening […]

  10. […] Who Loved Me – Julia QuinnDark Side of the Moon – Sherrilyn KenyonTempting the Beast – Lora LeighDawn’s Awakening – Lora LeighThe Secret – Julie […]

  11. […] Dawn’s Awakening – Lora Leigh […]

  12. Just in case anyone doesn’t want to wait to read, I found out recently that you can buy and download some of Lora Leigh’s book from the publisher’s website, ellorascave.com. It has some of her non-Breed books, then the earlier breed stories, I guess she has a different publisher now. It’s great, I’ve been reading them all!!!

  13. I agree. I am eagerly awaiting Cassie’s story. Till date, Aiden’s Charity and Tanner’s Scheme have been my favorite, with Elizabeth’s Wolf coming a close third. But I am sure Cassie’s story would make a fantastic read.

  14. I so can’t wait for Cassie’s story – or for Jonas’.

  15. Jonas and Cassie!!!! NO WAY!

    Cassie’s mate will be a coyote breed, remember that part in Dawn’s Awaking where she says ” I dare you” that “you” says at the end of the novel ” Never dare me”

    The whole daring thing is a coyote thing!

    Plus there’s an age difference!

    I think Cassie’s mate is that Coyote’s in Tanner’s scheme , the one who “seemingly” works for Scheme’s father!

  16. I meant Cassie’s story and Jonas’ as two separate ones. I wasn’t thinking of them as a pair. I just want both stories to be published NOW!

    I do agree that Cassie’s mate is the sniper from Dawn’s Awakening. Interesting thought about her mate working for Scheme’s father. That makes a lot of sense.

    I hate all of the waiting!!!

  17. I know what you meant I just read all the comments and I replied 🙂

    However, it’s good that someone agrees with me! Because you won’t believe how many readers think that Jonas is Cassie’s mate! and get this, some think that Dane is Cassie’s mate! WOW!

    You know I wonder if Dane is going to have a story, and if we ever going to read Leo and Elizabeth’s story!

    So far I think the most mysterious character is Dane!

  18. Just got through reading Dawn’s Awakening for about the fifth time and it is one of my favorites. I am leaning towards Dane as the the sniper. No one knew that he was a breed because they couldn’t “scent” him, only David could, Callan and Merimus son. Whoever Cassie mate going to be I can’t wait to read it. I read that Jonas mate will be “Rebecca”, I am not sure if that the name, and she is going to be pregnant, whether the baby is Jonas or not remains to be seen.

  19. Hmm, I still think that there is no way Dane could be Cassie’s mate. A feline hybrid to mate with coyote-wolf-human breed ? It’s too much!

    Plus I think Dane needs a different kind of mate!

    Jonas mate is Rachel, she is his secretary or as Jonas thinks of her as “his redheaded robot’s office!”
    We know that Jonas secretary is pregnant form Del-Rey in Coyote’s Mate:

    “Jonas, with said secretary in tow, will be arriving at Haven again tomorrow,” Del-Rey stated. “She’s breeding. You can smell the scent of the child she’s carrying. I can’t believe Prima Lyons hired a pregnant female to work for Wyatt. It’s certain to scar the poor kid before it’s even born.”

    If he can smell the baby, can’t he smell it’s Jonas??

    I am not saying it’s not Jonas may be there is a hidden sub-plot there!

    In Mercury’s War, Rachel had her baby and we get to know a little bit about her. That she is a mother, redhead, have a sense of humor but not with Jonas! hehehehe 🙂 can’t wait to read their book!

  20. Interesting stuff!! I can’t wait to get to Jonas’ story. I have no clue about Cassie’s mate, but tend to think it isn’t Dane. I am feeling an obsessive compulsive need to re-read all of the books in the series to remember all of these clues!!!!!!

    I do remember in one book Jonas was having sex with his secretary. Was that Rachel – or someone else? I definitely to do some re-reading. I am all confused now.

  21. No, no that was not Rachel. Rachel was mentioned- to my remembrance – only in two books; Mercury’s War and Coyote’s Mate!

    You won’t find anything more than what I quoted. After I read somewhere on the net that the name of Jonas’s mate is Rachel I had to go back and look for her in the book. There isn’t much. I never would have guessed! I hope she gives him hell before submitting 🙂

  22. Yes, the name is Rachel instead of Rebecca, I knew that the name started with the letter “R”. Yes, I also read that Jonas mate will be Rachel. Do anyone know if they have had a previous relationship. I know that Elizabeth was mentioned as a matchmaker in Mercury’s War. She sent Ria to work so that she could come in contact with Mercury and the rest as they say is history. Also, wasn’t Elizabeth the one who got Rachel the job as Jonas secretary. There is a lot about Jonas that is unknown, and I can’t wait until his book comes out to find out all the details about him and how he developed into who he is now.

  23. No they didn’t have a previous relationship ! She is his new secretary and Merinus is the one who got Rachel the job! Maybe she knows something that we the reader and Jonas don’t know!

    In Mercury’s War, Ria is sent by The Leo and Dane, not Elizabeth! Elizabeth has nothing to do with it! The only Elizabeth who was mentioned is Leo’s mate. Not even Dash or Cassie were in Ria and Mercury’s story!

  24. Seriously, I need to go back and read these books again. Which means I need to go find them first.

    Getting Leo and Elizabeth’s story would be awesome.

    I agree about Dane being the most mysterious Breed. There has to be a fascinating story there.

  25. I’m confused about Rachel. She is referred to as being pregnant in Coyote’s Mate and a new mother in Mercury’s War. Doesn’t Coyote’s Mate come after Mercury’s War in the series?

  26. Seriously? I definitely need to go back and read these books. I have no clue because I can’t remember Rachel.

  27. Yes Coyote’s Mate came next but not the events! The books are becoming more complecated with new storied, event, character. Have you read Bengal’s Heart? It has more characters than we already know!

  28. I see… so in terms of events Mercury’s War comes after Coyote’s Mate. The question which then arises is whether Jonas is the father of her baby. I’m leaning towards yes but I’m curious as to how Lora Leigh is going to explain why no one else realized that Jonas and Rachel mated and had a child together. I do agree that the stories are becoming more intricate. I have now read every Breed story except Kane and Sherra and her style has changed over time. I am extremely excited to read Jonas’ story. He is definitely my favourite character.

  29. No way Jonas is the father, in Mercury’s War he didn’t even like her. He thinks that she acts like a robot. We know that he finally knows that she is his mate in Bengal’s Heart.

    Here is something from Mercury’s war: ” Jonas stared at the report, his eyes narrowing at the findings Ely had sent to him, before he pressed the intercom button into his secretary’s office. Or rather his redheaded robot’s office, he thought with a silent grunt. For a new mother, the woman was decidedly un-maternal at work.
    “Rachel, I need the heli-jet prepped for a return to Sanctuary. Inform Jackal we’ll be heading out again.”
    “Yes sir, Mr. Wyatt.”
    He grimaced at her cool, competent voice. He missed his last secretary, Kia, but she’d left in a storm of tears for some damned reason more than three months before. He still hadn’t figured out why she was so upset with him. But at least she’d had a personality. The piece of cardboard manning the desk now was as dry as dust. …… ““Mr. Jackal is here now, sir,” she told him. “The jet will be awaiting your arrival on the roof, destination Sanctuary. Do you require anything else?” Yeah, a secretary with a sense of humor would be a nice start. Where the hell had Merinus Tyler found this droid? But at the moment a cardboard secretary was the least of his concerns

    Here is something from Bengal’s Heart:

    ” “Cabal.” Jonas stepped back into the waiting area, his face heavily lined and somber as his secretary moved in behind him.
    Rachel wasn’t timid, but she was quiet. Her gaze was filled with compassion, her composed expression saddened.
    She was Jonas’s mate. Cabal had known it the moment he met her, and he was sure Jonas knew it as well………. Cabal: ““I’ll kill him for this, Jonas. He had no right to involve her this way.”
    Rachel spoke up then. “She’s not a doll. You won’t put her on a shelf and dictate how she can or cannot live. If you do, Cabal, you’ll lose her.”
    He glared at her, noticing absently how Jonas moved to block sight of her with his own body.
    Hell, he knew better than to growl at her. She might not realize it, but Jonas was like a damn dog with a bone when it came to his little secretary.”

    I hope this clears everything up!

  30. Thank you. I read both excerpts before but reading them together does make it unlikely that Jonas is the father. I suppose I’ll just have to wait and see like all the rest of the fans of this series. I am curious to know how Lora Leigh is going to explain why Jonas did not immediately know that Rachel was his mate. She must have a secret of her own.

  31. Further to my last comment the only thing that makes sense is that Rachel was married when she became Jonas’ secretary.

  32. Well this is Jonas we are talking about. We will know nothing till we read his book. I feel that there is something about Rachel. Why would Merinus choose her for Jonas’s secretary? There is something, can’t wait for the book!

  33. I also cannot wait for the book. I’m a fan of Nalini Singh’s psychangeling series and she has two books coming out before Lion’s Heat so that should alleviate the pain of waiting 🙂

  34. I got hooked on to lora eigh books only recently. i was thinking that Cassie’s mate could be Dog. He’s coyote…….What do you think???????

  35. I definitely think that’s a possibility.

  36. I think it’s Dog!

  37. If it is, I cant wait for that story. I find Dog very interesting……in fact, at this point, more than Jonas (ducks to avoid the rotten tomatoes)!!
    Maybe its b’cos over the last ew books we have had lot of info on Jonas, but Dog remains a mystery……..

  38. I totally agree about Dog. I can’t wait to learn more about him.

  39. I am going to throw rotten watermelon at you too——> kidding, but how dramatic ,right!

    I can not wait for Jonas’s story.
    But cleaver of Leigh to create so much mystery about Dog since soon all the mystery of Jonas is no more!

  40. Sorry I meant two not too 🙂

  41. It is definitely clever. Jonas has been the most intriguing character over the past several books. There definitely needs to be someone else to take his place. Of course, now there is also Patrick/Azrael. However, my list of interests right now are #1 Jonas, #2 Cassie and her mate #3 Dane #4 Dog and #5 Patrick.

  42. Whew! Watermelons certainly beat tomatoes!! I’ll make sure I’ll stay outta your way, Nadalein!

    I cant wait for Jonas’ story either. After the anticlimatic way in which his mate was revealed, I hope he gets plenty of trouble from her in Lion’s heat.

    Regarding Dane…..has anyone noticed the timeline in the series?? In one book (i think Mercury’s War) the timeline suggests that he is around 50yrs. What I found wierd was that it was also suggested that he, along with Leo and Elizabeth , had stopped aging. That didnt make sense to me as he is still not mated……or did I miss something in the couple of books that I have not read so far??

    If I find the text where there is info in this, I’ll post it here.

    BTW, who is Patrick??

  43. Patrick is Azrael from Bengal’s Heart. His story is a heart breaking one. I cried a lot.

    You know,you are absolutely right about Dane. If he stopped aging; that means he mated. Note that he was and may be still in love with Harmony ( Jonas’s sister)

    But looking at Patrick, no way Dane had mated and living normally without his mate. And no way he would fall in love with another.

    Dane is a mysterious character. Don’t forget that he is a hybird breed. But I am sure he is in his fifties.

    As for Jonas’s story, don’t worry he will get his
    This is the synopsis of the book:

    The story you’ve been waiting for. Jonas Wyatt. It’s time that bad boy Lion is brought to his knees. Or at least forced to have weak knees. Would he tremble for his mate? Would he bow before her? Is there anything or anyone that could actually be considered a weakness for our arrogant Director?

    Soon you’ll see just how deep, how well and how savagely Jonas Wyatt can truly love.

    I am so glad I found this place, I love it here!

  44. I think there have been suggestions that Leo and Dane are a bit different than other Breeds – that there be things about them that we don’t know. Dane has always been incredibly mysterious. Dane is one of my favorite characters. I loved him in Harmony’s Way.

  45. Thanx, Nadalein! I remember Patrick now. Is he going to have his own story?? I didnt know that. His mate is already dead!!

    I loved Dane in Harmony’s way also. I really liked him in Mercury’s war, too. Cant wait for his story. Lora leigh needs to write books faster…….maybe one each month.. 🙂

    I love this place too. Dont have anyone else I can discuss these books with. Thanks, Jennifer, for this awesome site.

  46. Rad, Lora Leigh hasn’t said anything about a story for Patrick. I just found him to be a compelling character. There has to be something for those Breeds whose mates have died. I find that whole scenario quite intriguing.

    Yes, I would love it if Leigh wrote faster – although one has to give her credit for how fast she does write.

    I’m glad that you guys enjoy discussing these books here!

  47. Absolutely obsessed with Lora Leigh’s books! Love the Breed series and like everyone else, awaiting Cassie and Jonas’ stories.

    I agree, knowing in advance of the book, Jonas’ mate is a bit of a let down. I would have loved for it to have been a surprise.

    Cassie.. damn, that’s a mind bender. I’ve a couple of theories. Dog, like others mentioned would fit and as she is part Coyote, it would work and the other possible is Ryan, Dane’s friend. I also wanna know Dane’s story too as he is one fascinating character.

    I dont think there has been a set of books that has caused me to plot and wonder in my head as to what would happen next.

  48. I’ve always thought Cassies mate was Dog as well.

  49. I believe Cassie’s mate is Dog from reading Dawns Awakening and from hearing about Dog in Lora Leighs other novels

  50. I just can’t wait to read Cassie’s story – whoever her mate is!!!

  51. Please tell me (if you can) in which books Dog is mentioned! I’m a woman on a mission here.. 🙂

  52. I know for sure that he comes in Bengal’s Heart. I think he also makes an appearence in Coyote’s Mate, tho’ I’m not sure. Its been ages since I read these books. 🙂

  53. Cassie’s mate is Keegan.

  54. WHAT! No no, that is so messed up. Keegan is an eagle breed. She is coyote and wolf bread. I can not see it. Are you sure about this? I still think it’s Dog or a coyote breed.

  55. Cassie’s mate seems to be Rhys Brannigan- a new bad boy mentioned in rule breaker. He is a sexy green eyed ice-man and he is Jonas second in command. I do remember reading somewhere that Cassie needed someone to take care of her and yes Rhys is a coyote and secretive. So i think he is her MATE


Leave a Reply

Categories

