Posted by: Jennifer | January 14, 2008

Persuasion – Jane Austen

Sigh! As a romance novel junkie, I am a huge fan of Jane Austen. I own copies of many movie versions of her books, and I love to watch them (when I have the house all to myself). As such, I was extremely excited to hear about PBS’ plans to broadcast Masterpiece’s complete works of Jane Austen. I taped last night’s debut of Persuasion and was able to watch it today (more than once). Persuasion just might be my favorite (ok, I might not be able to chose between Persuasion and Pride and Prejudice). I am a sucker for the reunited-lovers theme in the romance genre. I absolutely adore all of the longing looks that pass between Anne Elliot and Captain Wentworth – in both the 1995 version and the new version.

I have been a huge fan of the 1995 version for many years. I wasn’t sure how I would react to this Masterpiece version. However, it was a treat to watch. Sally Hawkins and Rupert Penny-Jones were great as Anne and Captain Wentworth. Anthony Head did an excellent job with the character of Sir William Elliot – who is a rather vain and pompous gentleman and is overly concerned about class and appearances. At an hour and a half, the movie does seem a bit short. However, I did thoroughly enjoy the scenes in which Anne and Captain Wentworth interacted. All in all, an extremely enjoyable movie. I look forward to watching it several times in the future – and to seeing the rest of Masterpiece’s Complete Jane Austen.

I might just be off to watch it again . . .

Responses

  1. I loved the new persuasion myself. I have wanted numerous times since it came out. I also love Pride and Predjuice and Jane Eyre . I am such a sucker for romance


Leave a Reply

Categories

