Posted by: Jennifer | January 9, 2008

Tempted – Megan Hart

Hart, Megan. Tempted. (New York: Spice, 2008). ISBN – 978-0373605194.

Main Characters: James Kinney, Anne Kinney, Alex Kennedy

Description from book:

I had everything a woman could want

My husband, James. The house on the lake. My life. Our perfect life.

And then Alex came to visit.

The first time I saw my husband’s best friend, I didn’t like him. Didn’t like how James changed when he was around, didn’t like how his penetrating eyes followed me everywhere. But that didn’t stop me from wanting him. And, surprisingly, James didn’t seem to mind.

It was meant to be fun. Something the three of us shared for those hot summer weeks Alex stayed with us. Nobody was supposed to fall in or out of love. I didn’t need another man, not even one who oozed sex like honey and knew all the secrets I didn’t know, the secrets my husband hadn’t shared. After all, we had a perfect life. And I loved my husband.

But I wasn’t the only one.

My Thoughts:

I guess when I read romance novels I like to be taken away from the grind of daily life. I don’t necessarily find it easy or comfortable to read books where the characters have real problems and issues that they need to resolve – especially real problems with their relationships. In this book, Anne and James have what appears to be a great life together. Sure, they have problems with their families, but don’t seem to have any dsyfunction in their marriage. Then, James’ best friend returns from Singapore to stay with them. Things quickly get out of hand when Alex and James seduce Anne into a kind of menage a trois relationship. Emotions get a bit out of hand between the three and Anne struggles emotionally to make sense. I’m not sure that I entirely understand the dynamics between the three. Does Alex love James in a romantic way? Does Alex love Anne? And what about James? I was frustrated with the lack of insight into James’ emotions and thoughts about the entire situation. Afterall, he was the mastermind – which was just downright weird.

Overall, I think this is a well written book that tells an emotional story about a woman trying to cope with her life. However, it is way too real for me. I prefer neat, happy stories that always have a happy ending – and in which the happy ending is a foregone conclusion. I wasn’t sure why Anne didn’t understand the ramifications of letting Alex into the bed she shared with James. I wasn’t sure why James and Alex didn’t understand either. I was annoyed with Anne’s parents. I wanted to smack James’ mother – especially went she snooped through Anne’s private things. This book was way too much for me. Now, I need to go find one of my fun books to lighten my emotional mood.

Read first on January 9, 2008.

Responses

  1. Hi, we are interested in sending you copies of our books for your review, and could not find contact into on your site. If you are interested, please contact us a support@sensorotika.com.

  2. […] Tempted – Megan Hart […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

