Posted by: Jennifer | January 2, 2008

Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night – Kresley Cole

Cole, Kresley. Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night. (New York: Pocket Books, 2007). ISBN – 9781416547037.

Main Characters: Bowen MacRieve of the Lykae and Mariketa the Awaited

Related Works: This is the fourth book in Kresley Cole’s The Immortals After Dark Series. The first in the series is Playing Easy to Get – the story of Nikolai Wroth and Myst the Coveted. The second book is A Hunger Like No Other – the story of Lachlain MacRieve and Emmaline Troy. No Rest for the Wicked is the third in the series and the story of Sebastian Wroth and Kaderin the Cold Hearted.

Description from book:

Her breathless kiss haunts him . . .

Bowen MacRieve of the Lykae clan was nearly destroyed when he lost the one woman meant for him. The ruthless warrior grew even colder, never taking another to his bed – until a smoldering encounter with his enemy, Mariketa the Awaited, reawakens his darkest desires. When sinister forces unite against her, the Highlander finds himself using all his strength and skill to keep her alive.

His slow, hot touch is irresistible . . .

Temporarily stripped of her powers, Mari is forced to take refuge with her sworn adversary. It’s rumored that no one can tempt Bowen’s hardened heart, but soon passion burns between them. Though a future together is impossible, she fears he has no intention of letting her go.

No deed is too wicked for her seduction . . .

If they defeat the evil that surrounds them, can Mari deny Bowen when he demands her body and soul – or will she risk everything for her fierce protector?

My Thoughts:

In November, I read Cole’s No Rest for the Wicked. I enjoyed the tale. I found it a bit complicated because all of the different species and their relationships to each other – the Lykae, faeries, Valkyries, Vampires and many more. I admit that I got bogged down in the details because I wasn’t entirely comfortable with the world that Cole had created. I had to stop often to read the glossary and remind myself about who was who. However, I did enjoy the overall story – and the main characters. In this earlier book, Cole introduced both Bowen and Mariketa, and I was incredibly drawn to them and their relationship. As such, I absolutely had to read Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night. I was not in any way disappointed. And, I will say that I think over time, the people and places of Cole’s Immortals After Dark Series are making much more sense. I wasn’t nearly as confused with all of the different species in this book.  I’m even pretty sure that I am going to have to get my hands on the first two books of the series. I tend to think that reading them will help me learn even more about this world.

Mariketa and Bowen first meet in The Hie – which is central to Cole’s earlier work, No Rest for the Wicked – and battle it out as contestants. Bowen actually seals Mariketa in a cave-like structure with several other demons and some pretty nasty incubi. Mariketa, who is witch, did manage to put a spell on Bowen to make him immortal. After losing the Hie, Bowen has to return to rescue Mariketa. Mariketa is still mortal and her death would have some serious repercussions.

As you can imagine, Mariketa isn’t too happy with Bowen when he returns. Bowen, however, is starting to have strong feelings for Mariketa – coming to believe that it is possible she is his mate. Unfortunately, Bowen had met and lost his mate, Mariah, a couple of hundred years ago. Since Lykae only mate once, he is confused. This makes Mariketa and Bowen’s relationship very complicated – and a bit heated at times. But, seriously, I enjoyed each fight along their way to figuring out their relationship as they battle an evil that is stalking Mariketa. I am starting to understand Cole’s Immortal world much better and am looking forward to the next work in this series.

Read first on January 1, 2008



  1. […] Wicked is the third in the series and the story of Sebastian Wroth and Kaderin the Cold Hearted. Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night, the story of Bowen MacRieve and Mariketa the Awaited, is the fourth […]

  2. […] Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night – Kresley Cole […]

  3. […] Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night – Kresley Cole […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: