Posted by: Jennifer | December 8, 2007

Everything Forbidden – Jess Michaels

Michaels, Jess. Everything Forbidden. (New York: Avon Red, 2007). ISBN – 9780061283949.

Main Characters: Miranda Albright and Ethan Hamon, the Earl of Rothschild

Description from book:

Your days and nights will belong to me

For summers Miranda Albright has watched – aghast, yet shamefully titillated – as her wicked neighbor Ethan Hamon, the notorious Earl of Rothschild, “entertained” a succession of lovers on the grounds of his estate. Now that her father has passed on, leaving behind a mountain of debt, Miranda must do the unthinkable. For Ethan has promised to sponsor her younger sisters, financially and socially, at a scandalously dear price: Miranda must offer herself to him completely for three full months, with no remorse and no restraints.

Ninety days and nights of unbridled sensuality await her in the arms of a rogue who views her submission as no more than a grand erotic game. But neither Miranda nor Ethan realize that fire blazes behind her innocent blush. And once her passion is unleashed by his lips and his touch, it is the student who will school the teacher in the ways of forbidden pleasure . . . and love.

My Thoughts:

This was the first book that I have read by Jess Michaels – and I can’t wait to read more (especially since her next release Something Recklessfollows up on Miranda’s sister Penelope). I didn’t realize that Jess Michaels was a pen name for romance author Jenna Petersen. I have read several of Jenna Petersen’s historical romances – and did enjoy them. However, I will admit that they did not captivate me in the same way that Everything Forbidden did. From the moment that the young Miranda happens to witness Ethan cavorting with his paramour out of doors, I was hooked. I literally felt Miranda’s need and desire for passion.

Three years later, the Albrights are in a dire financial situation. Miranda appeals to Ethan for help. Although Ethan has stayed away from Miranda because of her virginal state, he has indeed noticed her. He finds that he cannot pass the opportunity to offer Miranda a deal. He will fund a season for each of her three sisters in exchange for Miranda’s agreement to allow him unrestricted access to her body for three months. Miranda agrees. While she does need Ethan’s help, Miranda has been watching him and wanting him for three years. She wants to experience that which she has been witness to for so long. The result enthralls them both (and did I mention that it enthralled me too???).

This was a wild and satisfying ride. There is such passion and desire between Ethan and Miranda. I was actually almost sad when I finished the book. Jess Michaels may well be one of my newest favorite authors!

Read first on December 7, 2008

Responses

  1. […] Everything Forbidden – Jess Michaels […]

  2. Wow! Thanks so much. This is a wonderful reader review, I’m so glad you enjoyed the story! 🙂 I just put up an excerpt of SOMETHING RECKLESS at my site if you want a little sneak preview.

    Thanks again for the lovely comments on EF!

    JennaP/JessM

  3. Your welcome! I really, really enjoyed Everything Forbidden. I expect it will be one of those boks that I reread and reread . . .I will check out the new excerpt.

  4. […] Related Works: Lady Penelope Norman is the sister of Miranda Albright. Jess Michaels tells the story of Miranda’s romance with Ethan Hamon, the Earl of Rothschild in Everything Forbidden. […]

  5. I was introduced to Jess Michaels through her latest book, Taboo, and was pleasantly surprised by it. A lot of erotic novelists tend to write what fanficcers call PWPs (Plot what Plot?), which I disliked immensely. Finding an author who writes an engaging plot + erotica is a rare find indeed.

    My review of Taboo: http://imaginarylands.wordpress.com/2010/03/14/taboo-by-jess-michaels/


Leave a Reply

Categories

