Posted by: Jennifer | December 8, 2007

Bookstore Annoyances & Frustrations

I have been trying to buy the book Beyond the Darkby Angela Knight, Emma Holly, Lora Leigh and Diane Whiteside since it came out (I believe on December 4th). As usual, I keep a list of books that I want that haven’t been published yet – usually with their release date. Obviously, dates sometimes change. I do understand this. However, I was pretty sure that this book had come out on the 4 and was determined to find a copy. There is a new Borders that has opened near me. The arrival of a big bookstore close to my home was something to celebrate. The new store opened on October 11th – and as you can probably imagine, I don’t care to admit to anyone how often I have been over there. They have a large romance section which makes me very happy. I have only had one problem with the new store. Sadly, they do not seem to have new books on the shelf the day they are released. So far, I have had to either wait for or purchase elsewhere several books including Lora Leigh’s Nauti Nights, Suzanne Brockmann’s All Through the Night, and Eloisa James’ An Affair Before Christmas.

So you can imagine my delight when I checked the inventory online at the new Border’s on December 5th and found that Beyond the Darkwas indeed in stock. I wasn’t so happy later that night when I actually went to the store and discovered it wasn’t on the shelf. I, of course, asked someone there if they had any additional information or knowledge about the book given that it was listed as in stock. They could only confirm that the book was not on the shelf – and that no one working could remember seeing it. The information in their online system didn’t help them. The woman thought that maybe it wasn’t out yet. I was annoyed – and a bit confused. However, the store has only recently opened – and I’m willing to believe that this is probably normal and forgive such growing pains. I do hope that they can work this situation out – and yes, I did send an email to Border’s customer service.

Well, today, I decided that I wanted to read Beyond the Dark this weekend. I went to a local Border’s Express and again, was unhappy to find that the book wasn’t on the shelf. Rather than drive around from store to store, I called the local Waldenbooks. I was at first extremely excited when the woman told me that she thought they might have that title. My excitement turned to extreme irritation when the woman returned to tell me it wasn’t available. I expressed some minor disappointment, and then she told me that actually they had the book, but that it wasn’t officially on sale yet. I told her that I was pretty sure it had already been released – that it had been for sale on Amazon.com since the 3rd. At this point, I was highly annoyed. I called another Border’s, one that has been around for several years. Sure enough, they have the title in stock and ON THE SHELF. I wasn’t driving 40 minutes to this store at this point. I was going home. I did want to call Waldenbooks back to let them know, but restrained myself. I figured that I might not be able to hide my frustration.

The resolution? I promptly came home and ordered the title from Amazon. I had to buy some textbooks for school next semester anyway. And, I’d already given up hope of reading Beyond the Darkthis weekend. I really don’t know what the problem is here. I can understand that some stores might not carry the title. However, I don’t understand a store holding onto a shipment of books because they can’t figure out the release date. I also find it frustrating when online inventories are not correct. Hopefully, I will be able to read Beyond the Dark next weekend.

Leave a Reply

Categories

