Posted by: Jennifer | October 5, 2007

Harmony’s Way – Lora Leigh

Leigh, Lora. Harmony’s Way. (New York: Berkley Sensation, 2006). ISBN – 0425213056.

Main Characters: Harmony Lancaster (aka Death) and Sheriff Lance Jacobs

 

Related Works: This is one of Lora Leigh’s the Breeds Series. See Lora Leigh’s Breed Chronology. This series includes the following:

 

Description from book:

Sink you fangs into Lora Leigh’s series about genetically altered humans with feline DNA. When the Breeds desire the passions of the flesh, they can’t help but get frisky . . .

Harmony Lancaster is of the Lion Breed, created to be a huntress with a thirst to kill. But the way she seeks justice outside of the law makes her a liability to her own kind. Yet she also possesses information that they need on the existence of the first Leo – who holds the precious secrets of desire.

To save her life, Harmony is paired with Sheriff Lance Jacobs, who tries to tame the killer within her, while protecting the gentle woman he longs to possess. but a dangerous cult leader, bent on destroying the Breeds, could change the way Lance looks at Harmony forever . . .

My Thoughts:

First, I have to say that I am not generally a fan of paranormal romance. I am a HUGE Lora Leigh fan – although I only discovered her work about 6 months ago when I read Dangerous Games. I quickly started collecting her contemporary titles, deciding not to read her paranormal works. However, I read an excerpt from one the Breeds’ titles and decided to give them a try. Harmony’s Way was the first title that I bought. I was definitely not expecting to fall in love with the story, but I did. I am now trying to track down the rest of the Breeds’ titles.

Once I started reading this story, I could not put it down. I stayed up way too late one night finishing the book. I admit that it is a bit difficult trying to pick up on the nuances of the Breeds’ situation by jumping into the series somewhere in the middle. I couldn’t figure out what was up with Jonas – who is also Harmony’s brother. Harmony believed that Jonas wanted her dead, which made me believe he was the bad guy. It doesn’t turn out to be that way. At this point, I wished that I had already read the preceding stories (but am still looking forward to doing this).

Despite this, I loved the relationship between Harmony and Lance. The mating-heat-thing was a bit odd, but it is a large part of the genetic makeup of the Breeds. I can’t wait to find out more . . .

Read first on October 2, 2007.

Responses

  1. […] (part of Hotspell anthology with Emma Holly, Shiloh Walker, and Meljean Brook), Megan’s Mark, Harmony’s Way, Tanner’s Scheme and Dawn’s Awakening (to be published). See Lora Leigh’s Breed […]

  2. […] (part of Hotspell anthology with Emma Holly, Shiloh Walker, and Meljean Brook), Megan’s Mark, Harmony’s Way, Tanner’s Scheme and Dawn’s Awakening (to be published). See Lora Leigh’s Breed […]

  3. […] (part of Hotspell anthology with Emma Holly, Shiloh Walker, and Meljean Brook), Megan’s Mark, Harmony’s Way, Tanner’s Scheme and Dawn’s Awakening (to be published). See Lora Leigh’s Breed […]

  4. […] Harmony’s Way – Lora Leigh […]

  5. […] (part of Hotspell anthology with Emma Holly, Shiloh Walker, and Meljean Brook), Megan’s Mark, Harmony’s Way, Tanner’s Scheme and Dawn’s Awakening (to be published). See Lora Leigh’s Breed […]

  6. […] of Hotspell anthology with Emma Holly, Shiloh Walker, and Meljean Brook), Megan’s Mark, Harmony’s Way, Tanner’s Scheme and Dawn’s Awakening (to be published in February 2008). See Lora Leigh’s […]

  7. […] Harmony’s Way – (Feline Breeds – Lion Breeds) – story of Harmony Lancaster and Sheriff Lance Jacobs […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

