Posted by: Jennifer | February 25, 2007

Ravished – Amanda Quick

Amanda Quick. Ravished. (New York: Bantam Books, 1992) 0553293168.

Main Characters: Harriet Pomeroy and Gideon Westbrook, Viscount of St. Justin.

Description from the book:

There was no doubt about it. What Miss Harriet Pomeroy needed was a man. Someone powerful and clever who could help her rout the unscrupulous thieves who were using her beloved caves to hide their loot. But when Harriet summoned Gideon Westbrook, Viscount St. Justin, to her aid, she could not know that she was summoning the devil himself . . .

Dubbed the Best of Blackthorne Hall for his scarred face and lecherous past, Gideon was strong and fierce and notoriously menacing. Yet Harriet could not find it in her heart to fear him. For in his tawny gaze she sensed a savage pain she longed to soothe . . . and a searing passion she yearned to answer. Now, caught up in the beast’s clutches, Harriet must find a way to win his heart–and evade the deadly trap of a scheming villain who would see them parted for all time.

My Thoughts:

I absolutely love this book!!! Harriet Pomeroy is a wonderful character who cares only for her precious fossils. She summons Gideon Westbrook to come to her home town to rid “her caves” of thieves. From the beginning, she refuses to believe the rumors about Gideon, casting him as her hero. From Upper Biddleton to London, Harriet continues to feed her interest in fossils. Of course, she makes friends who feel compelled to help to try and “save” her from her upcoming marriage to the Beast of Blackthorne Hall. Her unwavering belief in Gideon is wonderful. I love the way that she defends Gideon at every turn. My favorite scene, however, is when Clive Rushton traps Harriet in the cave and discharges his weapon. The shot hits the wall of the cave and actually helps to reveal a large fossil. Harriet’s reaction is quite hysterical.

Read again: February 24, 2007.

Responses

  1. I just found your blog through a google search on Savitar and just wanted to say I love the way you talk about the books you read. ITA about Ravished, it was the first book by AQ and it is one of my fav romance books ever. Harriet is a wonderful heroine. I also read your review on Be with Me by Banks. I didn’t read it, but I tried a few others and am fascinated with the lifestyle. Not necessarily the sex, but the whole idea to live your life in that way. I actually enjoyed Colters’ woman very much, even though I did have a few issues with it as well (especially the first love scene- come on, give me a break, LOL).
    Enough said for now.

  2. Thanks for the kind comments Rikki! Harriet is one of my all time favorite heroines.

    I understand completely your sentiments about Be With Me and Colters’ Woman. Colters’ Woman was the first book that I read with one heroine and three heroes. I’ve been fascinated with the interpersonal dynamics of such relationships since them. I did enjoy Colters’ Woman, but appreciated the relationships in Be With Me much more so.


Leave a Reply

Categories

