Posted by: Jennifer | January 3, 2007

Pleasure for Pleasure – Eloisa James

Eloisa James. Pleasure for Pleasure (New York: Harper Collins, 2006). 006078192.

Main Characters: Josephine Essex, “The Scottish Sausage,” and Garrett Langham, Earl of Mayne.

Series: The Essex Sisters. This is the fourth in the series. The other titles are Much Ado About You, Kiss Me Annabel, and Taming the Duke.

Description from the book:

Josephine Essex has barely appeared at her first ball before she’s labeled the “Scottish Sausage.” What’s Josie to do?

Fueled by the knowledge that notoriety is better than failure, witty, unconventional Josie does what no proper young lady should–she challenges fate. She discards her corset and flirts outrageously. She attends the horse races and allows an arrogant rakehell to whisk her behind the stables for a surreptitious kiss . . . and is caught!

She doesn’t want to marry the young hellion–but who’s to help? Her chaperone keeps disappearing for mysterious appointments; her guardian is on his wedding trip; and his friend the Earl of Mayne is too busy staring into the eyes of his exquisite French fiancee.

Can a marriage forced by stuffy convention and unwilling desire become the match of the season?

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed reading all four of the books in The Essex Sisters series, but I think Pleasure for Pleasure was my favorite. I absolutely loved the character of Josie – she made me laugh way back when she was introduced in Much Ado About You. I also have to admit that Mayne has been one of my favorite male character since he appeared as a love interest of Helena, Countess Godwin. I was waiting patiently for him to find true love. When I realized that Josie’s story had been published, I anxiously searched for information about the book online. There seemed to be some ambiguity about the plot and about whom Josie would end up with. Since I had assumed that Mayne and Josie would wind up together after the chapter where Mayne had accompanied Josie to Scotland in Kiss Me Annabel, I was a bit concerned. [And, yes I am the type of person who will read the end of a book first to make sure it ends how I want it to]. I kept digging until I found some reviews of the book that discussed how Josie and Mayne end up married.

Overall, I felt very connected with Josie who had very real concerns and insecurities about her body. Her attachment to the “The Corset” was something to which I could relate.

I loved this book even more the second time I read it. Josie is such a real person.

Read first: January 4, 2007, read again: January 22, 2007.

Responses

  1. […] Series: The Essex Sisters. This is the first in the series. The titles in the series are Much Ado About Nothing, Kiss Me Annabel, Taming the Duke and Pleasure for Pleasure. […]

  2. […] Earl of Mayne from Eloisa James’ Pleasure for Pleasure – I loved the Earl of Mayne from his first appearance in an Eloisa James book. He was an integral […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

