Posted by: Jennifer | December 21, 2008

I Am Starting to Rally!

That vague depressed feeling that I have been experiencing because of the revelation of the Sophia/Dave pairing in Suzanne Brockmann’s next Troubleshooter’s book, Dark of Night is finally lifting. I have to say that reading people’s comments (on different blog posts and message boards) has helped lift my spirits. Who gets this upset over a book? Well, I know that I do. And I am happy to see that I am not alone in my devastation about the upcoming coupling in Dark of Night. Is is bizarre of me to be comforted by this fact?????? I certainly hope not.

Overall, I’m feeling better about the situation – not necessarily happy, but I think that I can accept Sophia and Dave together. I still think that I’m going to have a really hard time with Decker and Tracy. I love Decker and have since he was introduced in Flashpoint. I can really only wait and see how it all comes together.

The good news is that, for me, this is the last storyline arc in the Troubleshooters series in which I am so invested. I have been incredibly caught up in Sam and Alyssa’s story, Max and Gina’s story, Robin and Jules’ story as well as the Sophia/Decker romance that was never meant to be. I don’t mean that I won’t continue to read Suzanne Brockmann. I can’t wait for her next book which is supposed to be about Sam and Alyssa. After all, they are without a doubt, my favorite hero/heroine from Brockmann’s works. And, one of my favorite category romance of all time is one of Suzanne Brockmann’s – Letters to Kelly. I do think I will try and keep a bit more emotional distance. Of course, that is only if I can actually do that. Brockmann may well suck me in again. :)

I do want to say that I say that I want couplings in romance novels to be clear and I want/need them to make sense. In the case of Dark of Night, things definitely were not entirely clear to me. Even from the product description on Amazon, we are led to believe that Dave isn’t really The One for Sophia : “Believing that Nash is dead and that Decker has begun a romantic relationship with Tess, Sophia settles for second best and begins a love affair with Dave, who has adored her for years.” Second best? Ouch! It is only clear now that Sophia will be coupled with Dave because of people who read advanced copies of the book. I have to say a huge thank you to these people, because the descriptions and information released are intentionally vague.

I guess that Suzanne Brockmann has suggested that she was interested in writing a story where the coupling was not apparently clear. I’m not so keen on this idea. When I read a book, I allow myself to develop an emotional bond with the hero/heroine (if I can) – based on knowing exactly who the hero and heroine are. If there is some type of love triangle, this implies that there must be a character who does not get the girl. I tend to agree with some commenters on one of the blog posts that I linked to earlier in this post that this type of convention starts to stray from the romance genre a bit. I do not believe this is wrong; it just isn’t the type of story that I want to read.

Beyond all of this, I want to be happy when I finish a romance novel. I don’t want to suffer angst for one of the main characters. I like to experience emotional upheaval during the course of the story and know without question that the conflicts will be happily resolved by the end.

I need to give special thanks to the Keira Knightley/Matthew Macfayden version of Pride & Prejudice. The movie has been instrumental in my recovery. I have watched this movie several times of the past several days. All of the longing looks between Lizzie and Mr. Darcy have restored my emotional equilibrium.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

