Posted by: Jennifer | December 18, 2008

I Am Devastated By This!

I am a HUGE fan of Suzanne Brockmann’s Troubleshooter series. I thoroughly enjoy the world that she has created – and the characters that she has developed. While I get incredibly frustrated at the multi-year story arcs, I also understand that they keep me emotionally vested in the characters on a deep emotional level. This is part of what keeps me coming back for more. Usually, I gradually lose my frustration or sadness a few days after having read the most recent book – and am able to forget until the next installment.

I read the prologue that Suzanne Brockmann posted to her website for her newest release, Dark of Night, a little while ago. I was rather taken aback by the pairing in the prologue. I definitely fall into the group that believed (without any doubt) that Sophia and Decker would eventually get their HEA. When reading the end of the prologue, I thought Suzanne seemed to leave it open that Decker and Sophia would get together. Then, I heard about the spoilers posted by someone who supposedly read an advanced copy.

Yes, I was devastated by the possibility that Decker and Sophia wouldn’t end up together. I do know that Dave has been around, and in love, with Sophia for several novels – and that the two have been getting closer. Despite this, I never sensed that Sophia’s feelings for Decker were wavering in any way. Dave has made it a point several times to tell us that he knows that Decker is also in love with Sophia – regardless of whether he would ever act on those feelings (this feeling is reiterated in the prologue, by the way). As such, I have always believed that Sophia and Decker loved each other. This makes it very difficult to understand (and be happy with) circumstances in which they do not end up with each other.

It is very interesting to read the comments from readers on Amazon, message board posts on Brockmann’s site and blog posts (and subsequent comments) about the situation. There are some seriously unhappy people. Again, I’m not sure how I will react to the book and the pairings. Realistically, I can only wait and see. I still intend to buy the book. After all, I always like to know the end of a book (or a movie) if there is any question about how it might end. I do not like to be surprised. I read romance novels because of the HEA – and because I like to become emotionally vested in the characters. I do think that Brockmann’s books have given the impression that Sophia and Decker would be together. Is there room for interpretation? Of course, there is. Can Brockmann write what she wants? Of course, she can. I do know that if Sophia and Dave end up together (and Decker and Tracy – I don’t even want to think about that), Dark of Night will be one of those books that I couldn’t possibly read a second time.

I do believe it is important that there not be any confusion over who the hero and heroine of the story actually are. To me, the hero/heroine relationship is the cornerstone of the romance novel. I remember when Eloisa James’ Pleasure for Pleasurecame out. There was some internet chatter that Josie would not end up with the Earl of Mayne. I was horrified by the possibility – and felt the need to find out the answer before I read the book. I will definitely be reading the end of Dark of Night first. I am happy that all of this has come out. As it is, I have some time to adjust to the possibility – and hopefully, readjust my thinking about the characters.

I will say that I can’t wait for the book to come out. I need to know!!!!!

Responses

  1. […] is not what was expected. This has lead to a firestorm of posts at All About Romance and around the web with readers feeling misled and betrayed and the author herself saying that expectations were wrong […]

  2. […] tomorrow. My copy from Amazon is on its way – and is scheduled to be delivered tomorrow. I am all out of sorts about the whole book and the hero/heroine pairings. Seriously, I can’t wait to be done with […]

  3. […] interested in reading it. However, I’m not a fan of the love triangle plot (see my angst of Suzanne Brockmann’s Dark of Night). I like to know at the outset who the hero and heroine are. If it isn’t clear, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

